[MOSAIC-news] MOSAIC M-Cast on Friday at 12:30 Eastern, 11:30 Central

Daniel Kaplan kaplan at macalester.edu
Wed Sep 22 22:27:13 CDT 2010


Join us Friday for the next M-Cast from *Project MOSAIC*

*Being Warren Buffett: A Classroom and Computer Simulation of Financial Risk
*

Friday Sept. 24 at 12:30 Eastern (11:30 Central, 9:30 Pacific)

*Nick Horton* from Smith College will present a way to model risk and its
link to variability.  As a classroom simulation using dice, it's accessible
to everyone.  But it's also a lovely way to show students the benefits of
computation: how a small amount of math coupled to fast computation can
provide insight.  And that connects closely to the goals of Project MOSAIC:
to show how statistics, modeling, computation, and calculus can support one
another in the early undergraduate curriculum.

MOSAIC M-Casts are held the 2nd and 4th Friday of each month.  See the
upcoming M-Casts and recordings of past M-Casts on our schedule
page.<http://www.causeweb.org/wiki/mosaic/index.php/Mcast-schedule>

You can join Friday's M-Cast using your web browser.  Follow these
instructions<http://www.causeweb.org/wiki/mosaic/index.php/Mcast-schedule#Tuning_in_to_an_M-CAST:_Instructions>
.

Regards,
Danny Kaplan
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://mailman-mail5.webfaction.com/pipermail/mosaic-news/attachments/20100922/96b56774/attachment.html 


More information about the MOSAIC-news mailing list